Washington, DC 20510

April 28, 2022

The Honorable Lucille Roybal-Allard Chairwoman House Subcommittee on Homeland Security Appropriations HT-2, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Chuck Fleischmann Ranking Member House Subcommittee on Homeland Security Appropriations 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairwoman Roybal-Allard and Ranking Member Fleischmann:

As the Subcommittee considers the Department of Homeland Security's FY2023 Appropriations Bill, we write to support the inclusion of a provision similar to section 219 of the FY2022 Full Committee Draft Bill, requiring individualized custody determinations for all people in the custody of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) within 20 days of coming into custody, notwithstanding section 236(c) of the Immigration and Nationality Act.

There is no other area of American law where the government has the authority to use taxpayer dollars to detain people for prolonged periods without any individualized determination of the necessity of such detention. Under current practice, the majority of the thousands of people in ICE detention do not have access to a bond hearing or custody-level release consideration. This practice is costly to the taxpayer: in FY2022, nearly \$3 billion appropriated dollars were used to detain tens of thousands of asylum seekers and long-term residents of American communities. Social science research has overwhelmingly shown our nation's reliance on immigration detention to be wasteful and unnecessary: more than 80% of immigrants appear voluntarily for their immigration court proceedings, a statistic that approaches 100% when the person is represented by counsel.

We respectfully encourage you, therefore, to include the following language in the FY23 bill, which is similar to language included in section 219 of the <u>House draft FY2022 DHS</u> appropriations bill:

The Secretary shall ensure that all persons held in custody of U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement utilizing funds appropriated for "Custody Operations" are afforded an individualized assessment of the necessity of continued detention within 20 days of coming into custody. For the purpose of such assessment, adjudicating officers shall consider a continuum of alternatives to detention, including release on recognizance, release on supervision or other alternative to detention programs; and select the least restrictive setting that will mitigate any well-founded concern that an individual poses a specific, real, and present threat to an identifiable person or poses a risk of willful flight. Also for the purpose of such assessment, the term "custody" as provided at 236(c) of the Immigration and Nationality Act (8 U.S.C. 1226(c)) will be deemed satisfied by legal custody or physical custody, including a continuum of release options with accompanying supervision or other conditions of release.

Washington, DC 20510

Sincerely,

Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

ardend our

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Washington, DC 20510

André Carson

DAOUIN CASTRO

André Carson Member of Congress

oaquin Castro

Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

ridy Chu

Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Jason Crow Member of Congress

and Dollate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Vette D. Clarke). Clarke

Wette D. Clarke Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Ma/C

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Repuice Exobar

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Juis via R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Jacobs Member of Congress

Mondaire Jones Member of Congress

B/illin R. Kenting

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Man Lowerthal

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

enold Hadlen

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Marie Newman Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta Member of Congress

Avide J. San

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Geand H. Moston

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Granne S. The

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

~ Sie

Albio Sires Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Mark Jalaam

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

4. Stansbury

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Laskeda flail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Wilson Frederica

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress